Diary of an Abandoned Abandoner.

When adoptees surrender.

When I was four, knocked at the door. February 8, 2010

Filed under: Family — abandonedabandoner @ 2:28 pm

Four years ago today Little Miss officially became part of my family.  How did I manage to create such perfection? Then came the sleepless nights and worried days as her sensory problems started to show through.We’ve both come a long way in the last four years but she has come farther than most children her age and I am so proud of her! Two years ago we were looking at an autism diagnosis but today all that remains are some mild quirks that are more endearing than disturbing. She still hates having water on her face and some days the mall will still send her into a tantrum that looks more like a bomb going off but all in all she is just your average strong willed preschooler. I never could have imagined that this is where we would end up! Proud doesn’t even cover it to be honest, I don’t think there are any words that could begin to explain how much I love the little girl my baby is growing into.

So today I will be baking cookies, playing games and painting pictures with one of my best friends while thinking back four years and wondering how the time got away from me. Four truly did knock at the door and when I let it in I was amazed to see that it isn’t the ordeal I thought it would be, it is the beginning of new adventures and experiences. I don’t want her short lived preschool days to end yet I can’t wait to see what lurks around the corner. The next time I experience these stages it will be with my grandchildren, ACK! Every moment we share with our children is the only one we will have, there are no do-overs for firsts, no dress rehearsals  to make sure we get it right, everything we share with them is a one time deal so I’ll be sure to cherish each moment as though it is the last because, for that exact moment, it is.

 

Leave a Reply

